Baby Food Friday!

20130927-175253.jpg

I found a great big bag of fresh organic pears at my local organic food co-op today! So naturally, I thought….BABY FOOD!

We are just starting to introduce solids and so far Lochlan hasn’t disliked anything, SCORE! His Daddy is the same way…except mustard, I can’t even hide it in a recipe, he will know and I will hear about it for weeks!

I was given the most awesome book for Christmas last year (before Lochlan was born), that I am now using as my guide to feed this strong little man of mine. It is called Super Nutrition for Babies, it is extreme…but in a very enlightening way! It is a wealth of information that I think every parent should read…but that’s just my opinion.

Anyway, this recipe is not straight from the book but inspired by it! Here you go!

Cinnamon Organic Pear Baby Food (or your dessert tonight!):

Organic Pears, any kind and any amount you want (I used a 2 lb bag of “green ones”)
2 Tbsp of Pastured Ghee
1 tsp of ground cinnamon *optional

Cut the ends off all of the pears, peel them and core them. Slice them into your pan on medium heat. Add the Ghee and sauté for about 20-25 minutes or until they are soft and easy to mash. Stir occasionally so they don’t stick to the bottom of your pan. Before removing from heat, stir in the cinnamon and spoon into the Vitamix, blender or food processor. Puree until smooth. You can add breastmilk, formula or filtered water if you wish to thin it out more. Pour into your container of choice or serve once cooled. I chose to place in a baby food tray and once cooled placed in the freezer for later use.

20130927-181304.jpg

20130927-181320.jpg

20130927-181331.jpg

20130927-181344.jpg

20130927-181353.jpg

Lord, I pray all babies have access to good nutrition and healthy foods. Amen!

Leave a Reply

